Sage Drive FAQ
The most frequently asked questions about Sage Drive
Why use Sage Drive?
- Provides a secure, convenient means of accessing data from multiple locations
- Eliminates the need to port data to different locations using a USB drive
- Accountants can access client data without leaving the office
Who should use Sage Drive?
Sage Drive was intended to be used in the following situations:
- Business owners who want to have access to their data from the office or from home
- Small businesses where the accountant enters all or nearly all of the accounting information
Will Sage Drive allow a remote user to access the company at the same time as users in the office?
- No, Sage Drive can be used in a multi-user environment; however, it will require you to access the company in a single-user mode while it is being shared on Sage Drive.
- To allow multiple users to access the company, sharing of the company on Sage Drive must be stopped.
- Microsoft Terminal Services or Microsoft Remote Desktop Services is an alternative, if you require simultaneous remote access for multiple users.
What steps do I need to complete to share and use a company on Sage Drive?
- Activate Sage Drive. See "How do I activate Sage Drive?"
- Share a company. See: "How do I share a company using Sage Drive?"
- Add users to access the shared company. See: "How do I add users to Sage Drive?"
- Close shared company.
- At second location, download shared company. See: "How do I download a company shared with Sage Drive?"
Will I have to download the company every time I access it?
No, you only need to download the company one time per computer. Once the company is downloaded, it will sync with the data in the cloud.
What are the system requirements for Sage Drive?
- The latest release of Sage 50c Accounting must be installed on each computer that access a shared company
- Requires one of the following Internet browsers:
- Internet Explorer 10
- A high speed internet connection
Can I use Sage Drive as an online backup?
This is not the intended use for Sage Drive and therefore not recommended.
Note: If sharing of a company is stopped, the data on the cloud will be deleted.
What Sage Drive terminology do I need to understand?
- Sage Identification/Sage ID
- Sage ID is the authentication system that provides a single sign-on solution for all Sage services. You need to link each Sage service using your Sage ID that is registered within the Sage ID portal.
- The data owner is interpreted by Sage Drive to be the Sage ID that initially shares the company to the Sage Drive server. The data owner acquires certain rights
- Only the data owner can stop sharing (remove the company from the Sage Drive server)
- Only the data owner can add or modify users in the Management Center
- Payload is a collection of data that represents a change in the database. It combines all of the
- changes into a payload, which consists of one single transaction.
- The rebase is a backup that includes the payloads.
- How can I tell if my company is currently shared on Sage Drive?
- Once the company is shared, the Share Company feature is disabled.
- Sage Drive displays under the menu bar.
- A cloud icon displays adjacent to the company name.
Why would I want to stop sharing my company on Sage Drive?
If you have a multi-user license, you will want to stop sharing the company to take advantage of those licenses. A shared company is in a single-user mode, which means that only one user can be in the company at a time. This is the case even when the company is not being accessed remotely. To stop sharing a company, see: "Stop sharing my Sage Drive Company"
Is there a limit of data files with Sage Drive?
Currently, there is not a limit to the number of companies
Where are the Sage Drive servers located?
Currently the Sage Drive servers are leased from Amazon and all Amazon servers are in the US
I have the Accountant Edition, do I need Sage Drive? If yes, what are the charges?
Yes, you will need Sage Drive to download companies on your computer. For SAN members the Sage Drive service is included with SAN membership.
If data from Sage 50 is stored on a server rather than a local drive, will there be any issues in uploading to Sage Drive?
If an attempt is made to use the data in Sage Drive and another user is accessing it, will I be notified if it is in use and will I be notified when they are finished?
- Yes, you will be notified when you attempt to open the Sage Drive Company however, you will not be notified when they are finished. By default, they have access for 12 hours, or the company is released after 1 hour if there is no activity.
- If a user is removed from the list of users of the Sage Drive company file, what happens to the Sage 50 data file currently on their system? Can the database be opened at all on that person's computer so that the data can be seen?
- If a user is removed from access to a Sage Drive company, they will still have a local copy of the company that can be opened, but it will no longer be synchronized and it will be out of date.
If you have questions or require additional information, please submit a ticket and we will be in touch with you shortly.